Soham Grammarians on the web

last updated 3 Sep 15 - please note that the content of third party pages may not be up to date
Anything on the web on you or the people you knew at SGS? Try using Google™
Those who have died may be listed on our In Memoriam page.

Last updated 10 Dec 2020

If you find something we have missed please contact the editor.
See also the Honours page via School Lists


(year) = entry year

Richard Armitage - was Managing partner of the commercial and trade law department of Simmons & Simmons, London office

John Bull (1940) Mayor of Westminster 1984-85: Evacuee from the East End of London. Died 2007.

Brown, Richard J (1960) Retired teacher, author, expert on Chartism, runs the History Zone

Brunt, Martin (1966) TV Reporter, Sky News

Brian Capper (1968) Reader in Christian Origins, Canterbury Christ Church University College

Leslie Caswell (late 1920s) a highly talented artist who was a student at the Slade

David Clark (1969) David Clark & Company, an independent estate agency owned by David Clark, Ely

Peter Coxhead (1959) Formerly Senior Lecturer & Academic Manager, School of Computer Science, University of Birmingham: 2009 now Honorary Senior Lecturer

Michael Delanoy (1948). MBE New Year's Honours 1999. For services to the Farmland Museum, Denny Abbey

Simon Curtis FWCF, HonAssocRCVS (1967) Simon is a past Master of the Worshipful Company of Farriers. PhD from the University of Central Lancashire (2017); BSc Farriery (2011). His thesis was on the effect of loading on hoof growth and shape in thoroughbred foals. In March 2018 Dr Simon Curtis received the Sir Colin Spedding Award, presented by HRH The Princess Royal, President of the National Equine Forum.

Professor Peter Deasley (1954): died 2017: had a distinguished career in industry and academia

Ralph Dunham (1959), now retired from primary teaching but still doing some supply work: he most enjoys combining his hobby and teaching skills in the education services provided by the Severn Valley Railway

Geoff Fernie (1959) Director, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute at Toronto Rehab, Professor in the University of Toronto
Award of the Order of Canada December 2017

Sir Philip Foreman, (1934) former Chairman of Short Brothers, Belfast

Geoff Gammon (1950) in Ohio has retired and with his wife Dixie is heavily into "Exotic Bird Breeding & Internet/Web-site development-related activities. Never a dull moment!"

Frank Haslam (equiv 1959) Soham Grammarians' and EHS 1905-1972 websites editor - RAF websites - Leatherhead websites

Nick Grainger (arrived 1963 in the 3rd form): yachtsman and IT expert

John Harding (arrived 1962): author of Escape from Prickwillow, amongst many others. Chris Jakes spoke about him at the 2011 reunion.

Michael Hawes 1969 Partner in The MHH Partnership, Certified Accountancy practice, Soham and Cottenham

Neil Holmes (1952) photographer and author

Paul Holmes (1946) retired royally after 27 years on the Cambridge Bench

Professor Dick Housden (arrived 1942, staff 1955-60) a Pro Vice Chancellor of the Open University, retired

Bill Kelly (1955): Eur Ing W H Kelly MSc MA CEng FIMarEST now retired from Devon & Cornwall Joint Marine but visits Ely as President of the local Royal Naval Association

Graham Knott (1946) teaches Electronics and Microcomputing at Cambridge Regional College

Professor Geoff Layer ('1967') Vice Chancellor, Professor of Lifelong Learning, University of Wolverhampton

David Leland (1952) director of The Land Girls (1998), Personal Services (1987), Mona Lisa (1986) etc.

Paul (Taras) Lomatschinsky (arrived 1966-67 in the 3rd form), ITFT Indvidually Tailored Flight Training

Peter Lupson (1957) semi-retired teacher, author

Duncan McFarlane ('1965'), Leeds based musician/composer, part time computer operator

Rev William Case Morris, 1870s/The Mowforth Bequest

Stephen Murfitt (1965 entry) amongs other educational appointments, latterly the pottery tutor at Marlborough College, he returned to establish a workshop in his native fens at Wicken. He moved in 2018 to the north of Cambridgeshire. Ceramic Review film.

Andy Murkin (1965) Burwell history and Andy's music

Tony Noble (1968) Marshall Aerospace & Ely Roller Hockey Club

Andrew Nunn (1955), Professor: Associate Director of the Medical Research Council Clinical Trials Unit

Trevor Parfitt (1955) Scott Racing Services

Mike Petty (1957) Cambridgeshire Researcher, Lecturer & Historian

Stuart Porter (1959) Senior Research Fellow, Technical Lead NA Pharmaceutical Tech Global Pharmaceutical Applications R&D, Ashland Specialty Ingredients

Alan Richmond (AF Gathercole 1962) a web developer since 1993. His first site was one of NASA's earliest.

Tony Russ (Staff 1972) Formerly Director of the Quins Coaching Academy, then Chief Scout, now (Jan 09) heading Bristol's Academy updated

Trevor Salmon (1960) Chair of International Relations and Jean Monnet Chair of European Integration, Aberdeen University, 1996; Professor, College of Europe, 1995: now Emeritus Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations, University of Aberdeen.

Colin Searle (1962) Ivor Searle - Engines of Excellence: built up by Colin with his late brother Michael 59

Chris Stewart (1969) Chris Stewart Letting Agents, Ely

Clive R Taylor (1955) Chair Emeritus of Pathology (1984-2009), USC School of Medicine

Simon Taylor (1970) Ritz Music, Richmond, Surrey

Ken Vail (1950) Graphic designer and author of jazz books

Michael Yeomans (1960) President, Partners in Pharma LLC

Jeff Watson (1951) Ecology and sculpture

Simon Wynn (notionally class of 1965, joined in 6th form in 1970) MD of On Line Broadcasting


There are numerous references to Soham Grammarians in Barber's Littleport & District Directory and Almanack